Chris Duell June 4th, 2018

New Feature: Publish & Unpublish Content

In a major update to allow more control over the visibility of your content, we're introducing the concept of Published vs Unpublished content (Draft).

This will allow you to safely create and manage content that remains hidden from your user base until you're ready for its full release, or, be able to take an article offline if it's deemed no longer worthy of public view until you can repair it.

To help with showing the state of an article, when editing your content you'll now see two distinct labels, status, and viewing.

Status

Draft: If the status of the article is Draft, this means that no matter what, this article is not visible to your end users via the Assistant, the hosted KB, or anywhere else.

Published:  If the status is Published, this meant that it is available for reading (pending any access control you have setup).

Viewing

Revision In Progress:  This means that you're currently looking at the very latest version of the article, along with any updates that have been made to it that aren't yet made public to your audience. As soon as you make an edit to an article, it will switch to this state.

Last Published: This means that what you're currently viewing in the editor, is the version that your customers have access to (assuming the status is "published").

 

Publishing Content

If your content is in Draft mode, to get it into the hands of your users you'll need to publish it, which is as simple as hitting the green Publish button.

Publishing content

Publishing changes to an existing article

In much the same way, if your article is already public and you've made changes to it, you can hit the green Publish button to push your updates to be the latest version and available to your users.

Publishing changes

Unpublishing Content


If you need to unpublish content, and move it back into draft mode, you can do so by hovering over the "..." beside the Publish button to display the secondary menu, and select the "Unpublish" option.



Unpublishing content


Comparing the current revision against the latest version

If you need to compare the work you're currently doing against the original, to make sure that you're actually making an improvement and not making this worse, you can quickly toggle the view to show your revision, or the last published version.


Filtering content by publish status

When viewing your content dashboard, to make it easier to see what still needs to be approved for release, you can filter your content based on its publish status. 

If you combine this with filtering by content that has revisions, you can easily see what content is a work in progress, and bulk publish that content when it's ready right from the content dashboard.


New Features

  • Mark content as unpublished

  • Mark content as unpublished (draft)

  • Filter by publish status and if the content has revisions