In a much-anticipated release, you can now create helpers & hotspots on your site that will disappear after your user has viewed them. This is perfect for onboarding new users, or bringing attention to something new that you've just released, then removing that helper to keep your interface clean.
This coincides with an interface update to the visualizer and the main helpers admin area to streamline the flow of creating helpers for your site.
Adding a single use helper
When creating your helper, you'll be given the option of when to show this helper, you can choose to show it "once per user" (in which case it will show for the user until they view it, then it will be hidden) or "permanently".
Sometimes if there's a lot going on, it's easy for the hub to get overwhelming. So we're starting a process of allowing you to further filter down what is shown, to help you more easily manage your workload, and the workload of your team.
The first available filter, is to show only the cards that are assigned to a specific user, which you can see below:
In a major update to allow more control over the visibility of your content, we're introducing the concept of Published vs Unpublished content (Draft).
This will allow you to safely create and manage content that remains hidden from your user base until you're ready for its full release, or, be able to take an article offline if it's deemed no longer worthy of public view until you can repair it.
To help with showing the state of an article, when editing your content you'll now see two distinct labels, status, and viewing.
Draft: If the status of the article is Draft, this means that no matter what, this article is not visible to your end users via the Assistant, the hosted KB, or anywhere else.
Published: If the status is Published, this meant that it is available for reading (pending any access control you have setup).
Revision In Progress: This means that you're currently looking at the very latest version of the article, along with any updates that have been made to it that aren't yet made public to your audience. As soon as you make an edit to an article, it will switch to this state.
Last Published: This means that what you're currently viewing in the editor, is the version that your customers have access to (assuming the status is "published").
If your content is in Draft mode, to get it into the hands of your users you'll need to publish it, which is as simple as hitting the green Publish button.
Publishing changes to an existing article
In much the same way, if your article is already public and you've made changes to it, you can hit the green Publish button to push your updates to be the latest version and available to your users.
If you need to unpublish content, and move it back into draft mode, you can do so by hovering over the "..." beside the Publish button to display the secondary menu, and select the "Unpublish" option.
Comparing the current revision against the latest version
If you need to compare the work you're currently doing against the original, to make sure that you're actually making an improvement and not making this worse, you can quickly toggle the view to show your revision, or the last published version.
Filtering content by publish status
When viewing your content dashboard, to make it easier to see what still needs to be approved for release, you can filter your content based on its publish status.
If you combine this with filtering by content that has revisions, you can easily see what content is a work in progress, and bulk publish that content when it's ready right from the content dashboard.
Mark content as unpublished
Mark content as unpublished (draft)
Filter by publish status and if the content has revisions
This is the biggest update to the Hub since its public release back in February, we've got more on its way but if there's something specific you'd like to see, let us know.
Attach an article to a Hub card
As a much-requested update, you can now manually create a new card for your team, and attach a specific article to it for reference.
This helps to streamline the process of improving your content over time by quickly flagging an article for an update, or by connecting an existing hub card to an article that you're working on to resolve the issue that's come up.
We've also rethought the layout of the screen to make your experience with the Hub more fluid and natural.
Better visibility on which card in the list is currently active
Moved the quick actions for a card to the top of the page, increasing the width of the main card activity area
Added quick reply button for feedback cards, making it easy for you to quickly respond to the feedback submitted
Cleaned up the card breakdown, making it easier to consume the card at a glance
Improved the information shown to see the current type & state of the card
To help with finding the content that needs the most attention, or just help you find what you want to update, we've introduced a number of updates to the content dashboard to help you get your work done faster.
When viewing your list of content, to the top right of the list is a dropdown that will allow you to sort by the oldest or newest content, or if you're viewing a specific category you can display it in the same order that you're displaying it to your users.
Need to narrow down the content to just the content that a particular agent has contributed to, and in a certain period of time? Filters has you covered.
Article view counts & reactions
To help with seeing how people are using and reacting to your content at a glance, two new columns have been added to the content dashboard. Views, and reactions.
We dedicated a large portion of this month to improve the reliability and speed of syncing content in from third parties.
We also made a major update that means any images that are shown in your synced content, we now download a copy of and display from our own servers. This is a godsend for those of you who were syncing content from Zendesk that was behind a login wall, previously it meant the images couldn't be seen... now they can 👍
Syncing content from third parties stores a local copy of images
We've long provided you with a hosted knowledge base to present your help content in a full page view, but up until now, you've only been able to share public content.
This update allows your users to login to the KB to view restricted content. They'll be redirected to your site to authorise themselves, and redirected back to the KB in a logged in state, to open up access, like the recording below that shows the opening up of top secret content that's for elevio staff only.
When you setup a knowledge-base with elevio, we provide you with a URL like yoursite.elevio.help, if you'd like to control this and change it to a custom domain you can now do so from the knowledge base settings screen, here.
Both the above new features are available now on our Regular and Premium plans.
While working on these KB updates, we made a range of other improvements you can see in the list below.
Added branded pages for 404 and error pages
Added og tags to auto expand links when sharing in social media / chat
Reporting & Hub cards now available within the editor
To make it easier to see how much attention an article is getting while you're editing it, as well as if there's any open Hub cards for the article, there are now two new tabs in the right pane of the article editor.
Hub: Will show you an open cards, so you can quickly make the changes you know are necessary in one go, without having to jump back and forth, or make multiple back to back edits.
Reporting: This shows you two charts with the article views for the last 30 days, along with the upvote / downvotes. A table of the breakdown of where this article is being viewed the most is also displayed, to help show you the context in which the article is most viewed.
New formatting fields for custom form
To help break up and explain longer custom forms, we've added in the ability to insert a heading, subheading, or a paragraph into your form. This is handy for when just displaying the fields isn't enough, and could use with a little more guidance to make sure your users fill in your form correctly.
File uploads for custom form
Along with the new formatting fields, you can now add file upload fields to your forms.